REVIEW: Essence Gel Eyeliner (Midnight in Paris)

20130719-134706.jpg

Among the many kinds of eye liners available in the market, I find the gel ones more favorable and forgiving. Here are a few reasons why:

  • lasts longer than other types of liners
  • application is more controlled (thick/thin lines may be achieved depending on the brush used)
  • usually comes in matte form (don’t you just hate how most liquid liners register on photographs?)
  • can be smudged (as long as it isn’t dry yet) to achieve smoky eyes

When my old pot of gel liner dried up, I knew I needed to find a replacement. There I found Essence Gel Eyeliner! But before buying a pot, I swatched it first and it lasted all day without budging. I skipped with the brush that is sold separately since I have a few brushes at home that could do the same job. Now let me share you my two cents on Essence Gel Eyeliner in Midnight in Paris.

20130719-134718.jpg

Midnight in Paris, as described by the product, is a high precision gel eyeliner that is WATERPROOF. I was completely sold by it, being waterproof already. It contains 3ml of product, held in a clear glass pot. A lot of people compare it to MAC’s fluidline, but I haven’t tried one yet so I can’t really vouch for that.

20130719-134727.jpg

The product is very creamy and pigmented. It is very easy to apply due to it’s consistency and it is also quick drying. I have this pot for a month already and it still hasn’t dried up. I still have to update you on how long before this product dries up, but from the looks of it, I think it will take a little longer before it happens.

I have very oily lids and so far, this doesn’t smudge or smear. It lasts me all day and it only gets off with makeup remover. Blessing or a curse? You girls be the judge.

PRICE: P229 (Around $5.00)

AVAILABILITY: SM Department Stores (Cubao, MOA, Megamall)

20130719-134742.jpg

I took this product to a road test and checked if it is really waterproof. So you got four funny lines in there.

20130719-134752.jpg

Here’s how it went after running water on it

20130719-134805.jpg

I tried wiping it and it created a little smudge on the last line but that was because I ran water on it while it was a bit wet so I wouldn’t count it as a smudge issue.

20130719-134815.jpg

Now I tried rubbing it with soap and surprisingly it didn’t came off completely. Although it faded a little. I had to wipe it with a cream based makeup remover before I could take off all the product left.

RANTS:

  • Not easily available. I wish Essence invade all Department Stores here in the Philippines now. So far, the Malls I know that hold a counter of this Brand is from SM Megamall, Cubao and MOA.
  • Doesn’t come with a free brush like other drugstore eyeliner brands.

RAVES:

  • Long Lasting. It stays put all day without fading and creasing. The longest time that I used this was for 12 hours already.
  • Very cheap.
  • Great for occasions which require a lot of waterworks since it’s tear resistant.
  • Highly pigmented and very creamy.
  • Dries fast.
  • Contains more product compared to other liners of the same price.

THE VERDICT:

I would definitely repurchase this! I give this a 4.5/5!

One thought on “REVIEW: Essence Gel Eyeliner (Midnight in Paris)

Leave a Reply

